5C Photos Post

This was a fun project to complete! I ended up going for a walk with my girlfriend on Sunday, June 9, to see what I could find in the False Creek and Granville Island area. There were quite a few spots to take “tourist” type photos, but I tried my best to stay away from that by playing with layout and framing. I used my Canon 80D and a 28-80mm lens, for editing I used Lightroom.

Landscapes

Granville Island Crane – I focused on framing this within the trees.
False Creek Shore – I thought the flow of buildings was nice, and wanted to show off the day’s dynamic sky.
Alley – The leading lines pull the viewer to the centre, and I edited this in B&W to pull out the texture.

Objects

I liked the way the foxgloves in the first photo mimicked the buildings in the background. I found the fire hydrant in Granville Island and thought it was cute with the tiny fire zone in front of it. The art on the wall was found just outside of Granville Island, but I thought it was interesting!

Portraits

Through the Trees – I focused on framing with the out of focus foreground in this one.
Glowing Pond – I loved how the tree in the background was picking up the evening light.
False Creek Vibes – The tone was more of the “Model Shot” vibe, mixed in with having walked around a LOT.

4 Replies to “5C Photos Post”

  1. B/W view on a street is really impressived. I think if the second picture of the landscape applied the Rule the Third, it could be better

    Like

  2. Hi Brandon,

    Great shots! I have never seen that interestingly shaped building before in your first object
    picture with the foxgloves, I like how the foxgloves tilt to point at that building too haha. Also,
    the art on the wall is pretty cool as well! At first glance I thought that was edited in, definitely
    have to go look for this wall sometime. My favourite picture out of the great batch you posted
    is your first portrait picture. Great use of rules of framing and hierarchy, I think the picture
    flows really well and your subject really pops!

    https://bennychinvmm.wordpress.com/2019/06/11/5c-photography-project/

    Like

  3. Hi Brandon I really enjoyed your work on this project. I feel like you focused on getting creative shots by using angles alignment, and obstacles to shoot through like in your example “Through the trees”. Your editing skills also show in your work, however you do not over-edit which often makes pictures look “fake”. Here is a link to my Blog https://riadissa.sport.blog/2019/06/11/5c-photography-editing-post/ check it out and give me some feedback! Thanks,
    Riad Issa.

    Like

  4. hi,
    great pictures!! my favorite picture from your assignment is the girl sitting behind the tree and you focused her through the leaves. moreover, you used nicely used the lightning in the first picture. I like that you used the trees cars and buildings in the nice angle. the picture look really good.

    here is the link to check one of my classmates project https://vincentle.video.blog/2019/06/10/5c-hoangtuanle/comment-page-1/?unapproved=2&moderation-hash=47363f879d48c64f9f3114d23cab3200#comment-2

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started